Welcome!

Christian County Government
Christian County, Missouri


~Address Change-US Post Office

~Driver's License -Vehicle Registration
~Order Consumer Publications
~Zip Code Lookup
~Find Cheapest Gas Prices

State Government Links
~Missouri House of       Representatives
~Missouri State Senate
~State of Missouri Web Site
~Sho-Me Solutions
~GreatHires.org
~Missouri Revised Statute

Employment

CERT
E-mail us if you are interested
in the next CERT Class

Extension Office

firstgov.gov

GIS Map

molottery.com



Be a Poll Worker

greathires.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to the
Christian County Recorder's Office

Kelly Hall


Phone (417) 582-4360
Fax (417) 581-9943
100 W. Church Room 104
Ozark, MO 65721-0358
E-mail: khallrecorder@christiancountymo.gov

Click here for Online Record Search
   
* * Special Note: User ID and Password are "Public"

Responsibilities of the Recorders Office

  • Records real estate transactions.
  • Issues marriage licenses.
  • Records federal and state tax liens.
  • Records soldiers' discharges from service.

Marriage License Information

Both parties must personally appear at the Recorder's office together.

Marriage license is $55 cash and includes one certified copy after you are married.

A valid state issued picture ID is required.

Social security numbers and original signatures are required from both parties.
The marriage license is valid for only 30 days from the date of issuance and can be used anywhere in the state of Missouri.

You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. The officiator must complete the bottom portion of the license, have two witnesses sign it, then return it to the Recorder's office within fifteen days of the wedding. The license then is recorded, filmed for preservation and remains on file permanently in the Recorder's office.

QUALIFICATIONS:
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a license without parental consent, proof of age may be requested.
Applicants at least 15 years of age may obtain a license with the consent of their custodial parents at the time of application.
Previously married applicants must provide the date their last marriage ended.
Blood tests are not required.

Frequently Asked Questions

WHAT IS A WARRANTY DEED AND A DEED OF TRUST?
The General Warranty Deed is a deed containing a covenant whereby the seller (Grantor) agrees to protect the buyer(Grantee) against being dispossessed because of any adverse claim against the land, it is an instrument by which the buyer obtains title to the property being sold.

The Deed of Trust is a conveyance of land title by a maker of a note (the debtor) to a third party, a trustee, as collateral security for the payment of the note with the condition that the trustee shall reconvey the title to the debtor upon payment of the note, and with power in the trustee to sell the land and pay the note in the event of a default on the part of the debtor. It is a lien on the property to insure payment of the money due to the lender.

WHAT IF I HAVE LOST THE DEED TO MY PROPERTY?
Once a deed has been recorded in the Recorder of Deeds office, it becomes public information and at any time a copy can be retrieved for any reason. A certified copy can be made and will suffice for an original having been signed and sealed by the Recorder. Individuals may do research in the Recorder's office to look up their deeds the index is computerized since OCT 1994 and the oldest records ae in index books back to the early 1860'S

The Recorder of Deeds office does not include a deed or lien search service, we are only responsible for recording instruments that meet necessary requirements. If you wish to search the records yourself, we will be glad to assist.

CAN I MAKE MY OWN DEED?
Yes, you can, but the Recorder always recommends the retention of an attorney or title company for this important process. The Recorders office is a recording agency and is prohibited by state law from making out deeds or answering those questions which pertain to legal matters.

WHEN I LEAVE MY DEED WITH THE RECORDERS OFFICE WHAT DO I GET BACK AND WHEN?
There are a number of functions that take place when a document is recorded. It must be checked for errors,dated,time stamped,numbered, indexed and filmed. After all the processes are completed the documents are returned to the patron by mail, picked up individually or by title companies by whom the deeds were recorded. As a result,the amount of time required to complete the process varies as to the volume of work but usually the instruments are returned within 5 to 10 days.

Missouri Public Records
MissouriPublicRecord.com is a comprehensive resource for finding public record information by county, with important links to government websites and other state agencies to assist individuals with locating vital records, genealogy archives, court record documents, and other public record searches. MissouriPublicRecord.com was built to help people save time when requesting information or searching for records by directing them to the appropriate county or state agency.

Ray Weter ~ Eastern District          Lou Lapaglia ~ Presiding Commissioner          Bill Barnett ~ Western District

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2008 Christian County, MO